Deutsch Amerikanischer Freundschaft – Paradiso, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, 1981 FM


Recorded and broadcasted by VPRO Radio.

Deutsch-Amerikanische Freundschaft were an influential German electropunk/Neue Deutsche Welle band from Düsseldorf, formed in 1978 featuring Gabriel “Gabi” Delgado-López (vocals), Robert Görl (drums, percussion, electronic instruments), Kurt “Pyrolator” Dahlke (electronic instruments), Michael Kemner (bass-guitar) and Wolfgang Spelmans (guitar). Kurt Dahlke was replaced by Chrislo Haas (electronic instruments, bass-guitar, saxophone) in 1979.

D.A.F.’s most famous songs are “Kebabträume” and the grimly sarcastic “Der Mussolini” from the album “Alles ist gut”, a pulsing dance song. The lyrics “Dance the Mussolini, move your behind, clap your hands, and now the Adolf Hitler, and now the Jesus Christ”, caused a scandal.

In interviews they claimed to not target anything or anyone specific while creating lyrics to be taken as a parody of words and phrases floating around in the public media. “Sato-Sato” and “Der Mussolini” are both examples of songs written around Delgado-López’s fascination with the sound of a particular word. A few months before the 2003 invasion of Iraq D.A.F. released “The Sheriff (An Anti-American Song)”.

The album “Alles ist gut” (Everything is fine) received the German “Schallplattenpreis” award by the “Deutsche Phono-Akademie”, an association of the German recording industry.

The first two D.A.F. albums featured the original four-piece line-up and a range of styles. Some songs on Die Kleinen und die Bösen (The Small Ones and the Evil Ones), featured thrashed guitars, electronic screeching, and hammered drums while Gabi screamed and ululated. The record was widely lauded by the British music press, and earned the group an early cult following in the UK.

As their sound crystallized into a more rhythmically intense and minimalistic style, Gabi and Robert ejected the other members, who had become superfluous both musically and in terms of the chemistry within the band. On the later albums recorded by the remaining duo, the arrangements were sparse and heavily electronic, the singing evolved from abstract screams and mumbles to a very direct, rhythmic vocal style, and their live performances were delivered with such intensity that a 1980 concert in Düsseldorf had to be stormed by the police to bring the crowd under control.

The second full length album, Alles ist gut, was recorded entirely by Gabi and Robert working as a duo, and displayed the distinctive D.A.F. formula. Robert played drums — usually fairly simple and relatively unsyncopated patterns, but with simple variations that prevented them sounding robotic — while Gabi sang. The only other instrument used was a Korg MS-20 synthesizer, usually driven by a 16-step analog sequencer. Typically only a single sequencer-driven line would be used for a song, the sequence functioning both as melodic accompaniment and as a bassline. The song Der Mussolini is a perfect example of this. On other songs, such as the title track, certain notes of the sequence were set slightly out of tune. Overall the songs entail a complex tension between the predominantly visceral (the voice), the relentlessly robotic (the 16-step sequences), and the drums, which lie somewhere in between. One song, Der Räuber und der Prinz (The Robber and the Prince), also features a Glockenspiel as a sinister reminder of childhood.

Here you can hear D.A.F. (only as a duo)

Gabriel “Gabi” Delgado-López – vocals
Robert Görl – drums

and…. a stack of 15 Nakamichi cassette players !!

Setlist :

01 Der Mussolini
02 Ich Und Der Wirklichkeit
03 Der Räuber Und Der Prinz

Here is another song of this concert on youtube.

Lineage : Cassette > Audacity > CD Wave Editor > FLAC8

Another one from the box of old tapes !





DE DIV, live at the Paard van Troje, Den Haag, Netherlands, Nov 21. 1982

DE DIV live at the Paard van Troje Den Haag Netherlands Nov 21. 1982

De DIV were a new wave group from the Netherlands who existed from 1979 to 1990.

At first they sang in the Dutch language but later on they changed to English.

One of their members, from 1984, was Michel Schoots, who would later play drums in the Urban Dance Squad, under the alias of “Magic Stick”.

De Div were very popular in the dutch indie wave scene.

The line up here is :

Rob Dingemans – guitar
Marc De Reus – bass
Peter de Wolf – drums
Niek van Slobbe – guitar
Art Zaaijer – vocals, saxophone.

Recorded and broadcasted by KRO radio for the program “Rocktempel”

Tracklist :

01 Sahara
02 Banzai
03 Jij Danst
04 Het Midden
05 Guerilla

De DIV was een Nederlandse new wave band die bestond van 1979 tot 1990.
Hun vroege werk was in het Nederlands maar later werden hun teksten Engelstalig.
Één van de bandleden (1984), was Michel Schoots, later drummer van The Urban Dance Squad, onder het alias “Magic Stick”.
De DIV was erg populair in de Indie new wave scene in Nederland.

De band bestaat, op deze opnames, uit :

Rob Dingemans – gitaar
Marc De Reus – basgitaar
Peter de Wolf – drums
Niek van Slobbe – gitaar
Art Zaaijer – zang, saxofoon.

Opgenomen en uitgezonden door KRO Radio voor het programma “Rocktempel”

Setlist :

01 Sahara
02 Banzai
03 Jij Danst
04 Het Midden
05 Guerilla

Source : FM > Cassette > Audacity > CD Wave Editor > WAV > FLAC

Another one from the box of old tapes !




YEHUDI MENUHIN – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Vioolconcerten 4 & 5

yehudi menuhin mozartyehudi menuhin mozart 2

Yehudi Menuhin – viool

The Phlharmonic Orchestra onder leiding van John Pritchard

Vinyl rip van His Masters Voice ALP1281 UK MONO

1. Concerto No. 4 In D Majeur, K.218

  • Allegro – Cadenza – Tempo I
  • Andante Cantabile – Cadenza – Tempo I
  • Rondo -Andante Grazioso – Allegro Ma Non Troppo – Cadenza – Andante Grazioso – Allegro Ma Non Troppo

2. Concerto No. 5 in A Majeur, K.219

  • Allegro Aperto – Cadenza – Tempo I
  • Adagio – Cadenza – Tempo I
  • Tempo Di Menuetto – Allegro – Tempo I

Download Link

All files are FLAC files (24 Bits, lossless) which can be played in almost any media player (Windows) , or, converted to ALAC (losless) in iTunes (Mac).